The C.E.F.R.






or Common Framework of Reference for Languages,
is a tool of reference for a better understanding and coherence in terms of assessing a language level.
Europe_France_IleDeFrance_Paris_Paris7_EiffelTower_4_2008_02 (5)
The Common Framework of Reference for Languages (C.E.F.R.) aims to promote international and professional mobility. It provides a common basis for describing the skills necessary to achieve different language proficiency levels.
It presents a reference system designed to correlate the language tests and skill levels. This means that candidates, teachers and the people who make decisions based on the results of these tests (universities, employers, etc.) can use the C.E.F.R. to compare the performance of a candidate in relation with any test in any language.
The CEFR defines the skills of reading and listening comprehension, and writing and speaking in any language. The framework is divided into six levels belonging to three main groups:
  • A1 – A2 (beginner)
  • B1 – B2 (intermediate)
  • C1 – C2 (advanced)


Download the self-assessment grid

Tous droits réservés @ HEC Paris